Back to Top
Skip to main content
NETL Director Marianne Walck Elected 2023 American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellow
Marianne Walck, Ph.D.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has elected NETL Director Marianne Walck as a 2023 AAAS Fellow for distinguished contributions and technical excellence in geophysics, earth sciences and energy and climate science; strategic leadership at two national laboratories; and unwavering diversity, equity and inclusion leadership and advocacy.

Walck leads NETL in its mission to drive innovation and deliver solutions for an environmentally sustainable and prosperous energy future. Previously, she served as deputy laboratory director for science and technology and chief research officer for the Idaho National Laboratory. She has also served in several leadership positions at Sandia National Laboratories, including vice president of Sandia’s California Laboratory and Energy and Climate programs.

Walck earned doctorate and master’s degrees in geophysics from the California Institute of Technology and a bachelor’s in geology/physics from Hope College in Holland, Michigan.

“As a lifelong advocate for science and progress, I am honored to be elected an AAAS Fellow,” Walck said. “I’m proud to have been considered for not only my diverse scientific experience but also for my dedication to fostering diversity, equity and inclusion. Confronting the climate crisis will take the world’s best researchers and scientists, and we will find the best by including people from all backgrounds and communities.” 

A tradition dating back to 1874, election is a lifetime honor. AAAS Fellows have included notable scientists, engineers and science advocates such as W.E.B DuBois, Maria Mitchell, Steven Chu, Ellen Ochoa, Irwin M. Jacobs, Alan Alda, Mae Jemison and Ayanna Howard.

Walck is among the 502 scientists, engineers and innovators who have been elected 2023 Fellows for their scientifically and socially distinguished achievements throughout their careers. AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, with over 120,000 members, and is the publisher of the Science family of journals.

“As we celebrate the 150th anniversary of the AAAS Fellows, AAAS is proud to recognize the newly elected individuals. This year’s class embodies scientific excellence, fosters trust in science throughout the communities they serve, and leads the next generation of scientists while advancing scientific achievements,” said Sudip Parikh, AAAS chief executive officer and executive publisher of the Science family of journals.

NETL is a U.S. Department of Energy national laboratory that drives innovation and delivers technological solutions for an environmentally sustainable and prosperous energy future. By leveraging its world-class talent and research facilities, NETL is ensuring affordable, abundant and reliable energy that drives a robust economy and national security, while developing technologies to manage carbon across the full life cycle, enabling environmental sustainability for all Americans.