Back to Top
Skip to main content

Twitter Icon Linkedin Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon You Tube Icon Flickr Icon

Awards and Recognition

NETL has a long history of garnering recognition for research excellence, technology transfer, and successful partnerships. Over the past 20 years, NETL’s scientists have earned 49 R&D 100 Awards, as well as 47 regional and national awards from the Federal Laboratory Consortium. These awards, along with the many other individual awards won by NETL scientists and research partners, serve to recognize NETL’s contribution to our nation’s energy future.

The awards and other forms of recognition received by the national laboratory provide tangible evidence of the world-class nature of the research as well as the technical, scientific, and program staff carrying out the research at NETL. These numerous accolades further demonstrate the commitment and dedication of the laboratory’s staff to fulfilling the mission of advancing energy options to fuel our economy, strengthen our security, and improve our environment.

Year Sort ascending Sponsoring Organization Recipient Award
Department of Energy Donald Ferguson The Secretary of Energy Achievement Award
American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) Isaac Gamwo 2018 AIChE Minority Affairs Committee (MAC) Distinguished Service Award
Pittsburgh Business Times Mac Gray Innovators of the Year
Federal Laboratory Consortium Mid-Atlantic City of Pittsburgh MOU State and Local Economic Development Award
Toastmasters International Bruceton Toastmasters Strive for Leadership and Education Award
Maryland Clean Energy Center Seth Lawson MCEC Capital Partner Award
Putman Media Stephen Zitney Smart Industry 50
Toastmasters International Connie Anderson Competent Commucator (CC)
Toastmasters International John Baltrus Advanced Communicator Silver (ACS)
Toastmasters International Brett Aristegui Competent Leader (CL)
Pittsburgh Federal Executive Board Jonathan Lekse Excellence in Government Awards - Rookie of the Year
Pittsburgh Federal Executive Board James Cox Excellence in Government Awards - Outstanding Administrative Employee
Pittsburgh Federal Executive Board NETL Emergency Response Function Excellence in Government Awards
Pittsburgh Federal Executive Board Jerry Carr Excellence in Government Awards - Rookie of the Year
Pittsburgh Federal Executive Board Garret Veloski Excellence in Government Awards
Pittsburgh Federal Executive Board McMahan Gray Excellence in Government Awards - Contribution to Science
Pittsburgh Federal Executive Board Ukraine Coal Team Excellence in Government Awards - Outstanding Team
Oregon Federal Executive Board Circe Verba Leadership Award
Oregon Federal Executive Board Alan Hartman Customer Service Award
Oregon Federal Executive Board Kelly Rose Exceptional Service Award
Department of Energy USSE2 Annual Small Business Award - Service - Disabled Veteran - Owned Small Business of the Year
West Virginia University Jessica Lamp Academy of Distinguished Alumni, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Energy Technology Magazine Electrochemical Carbon Dioxide Reduction at Nanostructured Gold, Copper, and Alloy Materials Best of 2017
Society of Petroleum Engineers Barbara Kutchko Distinguished Lecturer 2018-2019
SPIE Sensing Michael Buric SPIE Sensing Defense and Commercial Expo Rising Researcher Award
National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers Isaac Gamwo 2017 Joseph N. Cannon Award for Excellence in Engineering
Advantage Business Media National Risk Assessment Partnership (NRAP) R&D 100 Awards
ASM International Paul Jablonski ASM Fellowship
Federal Laboratory Consortium Far West Arc Position Sensing Technology Outstanding Commercialization Success
Pittsburgh Federal Executive Board EOS Water Management Team Excellence in Government Awards - Outstanding Team
Pittsburgh Federal Executive Board Angela Goodman Excellence in Government Awards - Outstanding Contribution to Science
Annual Shale Gas Innovation Contest Kelly Rose R&D Winner
American Association of Petroleum Geologists Angela Goodman Division of Environmental Geosciences Award
West Virginia University Lisa Baker Academy of Chemical Engineers Induction
Minerals, Metals & Materials Society Anna Nakano Best Poster Award by a Young Professional in Functional Materials
Pittsburgh Federal Executive Board Jessica Mullen Excellence in Government Awards - Outstanding Professional Employee
Carnegie Science Center High-Performance Optical Sensors and Sensor Materials Solid Oxide Fuel Cell Team Carnegie Science Manufacturing/Materials Award
Federal Laboratory Consortium National LumiShield Excellence in Technology Transfer
Department of Energy Cynthia Powell Secretary Appreciation Award
National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) Alexandra Hakala President's Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)