2012 NETL Awards

2014 Awards | 2013 Awards | 2012 Awards | 2011 Awards | Earlier Awards

R&D Magazine - R&D 100 Awards:

The Awards, widely recognized as the "Oscars of Innovation," identifies and celebrates the top high technology products of the year. Sophisticated testing equipment, innovative new materials, chemistry breakthroughs, biomedical products, consumer items, high-energy physics: the R&D 100 Awards spans industry, academia, and government-sponsored research.

  • Basic Immobilized Amine Sorbent (BIAS) Process, Kathryn Klos, McMahan gray, Jessica Sosenko, James Hoffman, Henry Pennline, Kenneth Champagne, Kevin Resnik, Dan Fauth, and Yee Song.

Federal Laboratory Consortium for Technology Transfer (FLC)

The Federal Laboratory Consortium for Technology Transfer (FLC) is the nationwide network of federal laboratories that provides the forum to develop strategies and opportunities for linking laboratory mission technologies and expertise with the marketplace. The FLC was organized in 1974 and formally chartered by the Federal Technology Transfer Act of 1986 to promote and strengthen technology transfer nationwide. Today, more than 250 federal laboratories and centers and their parent departments and agencies are FLC members.

  • Excellence in Technology Transfer - Development of a Platinum-Chromium Alloy for Improved Coronary Stents, Paul Turner, Jablonski, and Edward Argetsinger in collaboration with Boston Scientific Corporation.

Federal Executive Boards (FEBs)

The FEBs, established by Presidential Directive in 1961, are a forum for communication and collaboration among Federal agencies outside of Washington, DC. The need for effective coordination among the field activities of Federal departments and agencies was then, and is still, very clear. Approximately 88 percent of all Federal employees work outside the National Capital Region. Federal programs have their impact largely through the actions of the field representatives of the departments and agencies. In addition, Federal representatives are the principal contact with the Federal Government for the citizens of the United States. The National network of 28 FEBs, located in areas of significant Federal populations, serves as the cornerstone for strategic partnering in Government.

The committee plans and promotes an annual Excellence in Government Awards Program that recognizes the accomplishments and contributions of Federal employees in 22 different award categories. 

  • Outstanding Supervisor/Manager in a Professional Series – Eddie Christy, Gold Award
  • Rookie of the Year – Paul R. Ohodnicki, Jr. , Gold Award
  • Rookie of the Year – Meghan E. Napoli, Gold Award
  • Gas Hydrate Production Trial Team – Ray Boswell and Richard Baker, Silver Award
  • Outstanding Contribution to Science (Non-Medical) – Darryl T. Shockley, Silver Award
  • Outstanding Professional Employee (Med/Scientific Field) – Robert p. Warzinski, Bronze Award
  • Outstanding Professional Employee – Vito Cedro IIII, Bronze Award
  • Outstanding Professional Employee – Sai Gollakota, Bronze Award
  • Raman Sensor Team – Steve Woodruff, Michael Buric, and Benjamin Chorpening, Bronze Award
  • Community Service Award – Kenneth D. Lyons, Benjamin Chropening, and David E. Huckaby, Bronze Award


  • 8,246,767: Paul Jablonski, David Alman, Omer Dogan, Gordon Holcomb, and Christopher Cowen, Heat Treated 9 Cr-1 Mo Steel Material for High Temperature Application.
  • 8,142,756: Todd Gardner, Dushyant Shekhawat, David Berry, Methods of Reforming Hydrocarbon Fuels Using Hexaaluminate Catalysts.

Council for Chemical Research

  • Dave Berry – Collaboration Success Award recognizing development of novel pyrochlore catalyst for reforming of hydrocarbon fuels.

National Association of Government Communicator Awards

  • First Place (Technical or Statistical Report Category) - Sequestration Atlas III
  • First Place (E-Newsletter Category) - Netlognews

Award for Publication Excellence (APEX)

  • Marketing & Public Relations Brochures, Manuals & Reports Category - Commercialized technologies Through the Oil & Natural Gas Program
  • Annual Reports (Electronic) Category - Accomplishments 2012

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientist and Engineers (PECASE)

  • PECASE Awarded to John Kitchen, Carnegie Mellon University, NETL-RUA Researcher

Sustainability Awards

  • Greg Sawl was recognized as an Exceptional Service/Sustainability Champion by demonstrating "exceptional service and dedication" in his role as NETL's Energy Manager. His commitment to sustainability was evidenced in a variety of new construction projects and energy management initiatives, and through renovations to meet federal guidelines for high-performance and sustainable buildings. Among the many achievements under his leadership, NETL was able to reduce the energy intensity of its buildings by 23 percent from 2003 to 2011.
  • NETL's EMS/Sustainability Team earned an award by implementing and reaching goals within its own environmental management system—which is integrated with DOE's Integrated Safety Management System—while conforming to the International Organization for Standardization 14000 series. Along with other accomplishments, from 2008 to 2011, NETL reduced routine nonhazardous waste by 15 percent, hazardous waste by 30 percent, and direct and indirect greenhouse gas emissions by 13 percent.
  • NETL's Site Operations Division earned a Water Resources award by exceeding the 2020 water intensity reduction goal of 26 percent, set forth in Executive Order 13514, in 2011—9 years ahead of schedule. The laboratory's water intensity was slashed 44 percent, compared to the baseline year of 2007, through site-wide reductions in potable water usage, incorporation of closed-loop cooling systems, development of rainwater harvesting systems, and other initiatives. Secretary of Energy Achievement Awards.
  • The NETL team was honored for work in formulating a unique platinum-chromium alloy used for new generation coronary stents, which are used to successfully treat patients with coronary artery disease. The NETL team, comprising Paul Turner, Paul Jablonski, and Ed Argetsinger, jointly developed the alloy with Boston Scientific Corporation Inc. Stents made with the alloy are stronger, thinner, more flexible, and easier to see on x-ray than previous stainless stents.